Sen. Charles Schumer (D-N.Y.) was reelected Thursday morning to serve another term as Senate majority leader, capping a successful two years for the veteran lawmaker, who was just reelected to a fifth Senate term.  

Senate Democrats also reelected the rest of Schumer’s leadership team, giving Sen. Dick Durbin (D-Ill.) another term as Senate Democratic whip, Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.) another term as Democratic Policy Committee chairwoman, Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.) another term as chairwoman the Democratic Steering Committee and Sen. Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.) as chairman of the Democratic Outreach Committee. 

“A great, diverse, hard-working, effective leadership team,” Schumer announced as he posed with his team for photos in the Senate’s Ohio Clock corridor after the Democratic caucus held its elections in the Mansfield Room just off the Senate floor.  

“We had a great unified meeting where we were both very glad about what we are able to accomplish in the last Congress and setting strong aspirations that we will accomplish as much in the next two years,” Schumer told reporters.  ... Read More: The Hill