Jerusalem, Israel - May 9, 2019 - The annual Israel Prize ceremony was held at the International Conference Center in Jerusalem on Thursday evening, May 9, at the end of a day of Yom Haatzmaut, Independence Day celebrations. The televised event speakers were Education Minister Naftali Bennett and representing the winners Miri Ehrental. Also attending and seated on the stage were President Reuven  Rivlin, Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu, Deputy Speaker of the Knesset Meir Cohen, Supreme Court Chief Justice Esther Hayut, and Mayor of Jerusalem, Moshe Lion.

The Israel Prize laureates honored were: Prof. Adi Kimchi researcher in the life sciences; Prof. Aharon Maimon researcher in the field of Jewish language and folk culture; Naomi Polani in the field of the arts, dance and theater; Prof. Amnon Ben-Tor researcher in the field of knowledge of the country and Archaeology; Professor Dan Eytan, for architecture and design; Prof. Deborah Bernstein, researcher in sociology and anthropology; Prof. Mordechai Akiva Friedman, for research on the history of Israel; Prof. Dan Yakir, researcher in the field of Geology, Earth Sciences and Atmospheric Sciences; the Israel Prize for Lifetime Achievement and special contribution to society and the state was granted to Miri and Chaim Ehrental, who established "Zichron Menachem" a non-profit organization named in memory of their son who died from cancer, which supports families with children diagnosed with cancer; and a special Israel Prize for Lifetime Achievement was awarded to Rona Ramon, z"l, and received on behalf Ramon Foundation, by chairman, Arne Saban.

At the end of her speech Ehrental mentioned it was her husband Chaim's birthday. She then received a bouquet of flowers from a young lady involved with Zichron Menachem. It was an emotional evening, for not only the Ehrentals, but many in the audience as well.